Drunk or drugged driving in Texas has been on the rise, largely due to increased stress levels. While some might think drinking and driving is not a big deal, it only takes one accident for someone’s life to change forever.
Loss: fatalities, injuries, and property damage
Drunk/drugged driving is not a victimless offense. According to recent drunk driving statistics, thousands of Americans lose their lives after experiencing fatal, alcohol-fueled car crashes. Not only could you injure someone else, but you could also get injured yourself. What’s more, you and the other person’s car might get destroyed, too.
If you get arrested and accused of drunk driving, then you could face some substantial criminal consequences. A first-time DUI/DWI in Texas could result in a sentence of up to 180 days in jail, fines of up to $2,000, and a probation period.
Criminal consequences won’t be the only thing you’ll endure if you get arrested for a DUI or a DWI. You’ll also automatically lose your driver’s license unless you schedule an administrative license revocation hearing within a few days of your arrest.
A criminal charge might also impact your professional career, too. After all, a few days in jail could threaten your job security. Extended consequences, like an inability to drive to work, could also cause problems in the future.
Do your part to end drunk/drugged driving in Texas
Clearly, drunk/drugged driving in Texas has some hefty penalties associated with it. If you or someone else gets behind the wheel while intoxicated, then you could possibly cause a life-altering car crash. This could lead to devasting loss, injuries, and property damage for both parties. What’s more, you could also face criminal and civil consequences if you get charged with a DUI or DWI in Texas.
The best thing you can do is to do your part to end this crisis. Never get behind the wheel while you’re intoxicated.